In Gold We Trust 2015

The 2015 edition of the In Gold We Trust report contains a wealth of insights for all types of investors. In Gold We Trust 2015 takes a look at the big picture in the financial system, from the point of view of the unusual monetary policies. This is the ninth edtion of the report. Below is the executive summary from the report, as well as the report itself to be downloaded or read online:

After the barely averted implosion of the financial system in autumn of 2008, we are now in the seventh year of world-wide central bank experimentation. We have all become guinea pigs of an unprecedented attempt at re-inflation, the outcome of which remains uncertain. Questionable monetary policy ventures like quantitative easing and negative interest rates are a direct consequence of a systemic addiction to inflation.

The global financial architecture remains in a fragile state. Disinflationary forces have dominated since 2011. The systemic instability between inflation and deflation – monetary tectonics – culminated in a “disinflationary earthquake” in the second half of 2014, as all industrial commodities and every paper currency lost enormous ground against the US dollar.

Widespread, chronic over-indebtedness is ratcheting up the pressure on monetary authorities to break the deflationary trend and finally generate rising price inflation rates. Gold has always been the best hedge against excessive inflationary efforts.

We are convinced that we are now close to a decisive fork in the road: the disinflationary trend will (have to) be broken. Rising price inflation rates are possible both in conjunction with a revival in economic activity and in a stagflationary environment. In both cases, inflation-sensitive investments including gold and gold mining stocks will benefit.

The majority of market participants have gradually abandoned all concerns over inflation in recent years. This is reflected in exceptionally low inflation expectations and the composition of investment portfolios. The exit from the current “low-flation” phase could prove to be the “pain-trade” for most investors.

From a technical perspective, the picture is not unequivocal. The downtrend hasn’t been broken yet. However, pronounced negative sentiment indicates resignation among gold bulls. We believe a final selloff is possible. During such a sell-off, the support at USD 1,140 could be tested. A reversal following such a test would be a reliable indication of a primary trend change in the gold market.

Based on the “big picture” analysis that is packed into this report, we see no reason for a change of course: In gold we (still) trust. We are firmly convinced that gold remains in a secular bull market that is close to making a comeback.

We expect to see a final trend acceleration at the end of the cycle. We thus decided to set a time horizon of three years – June 2018 – for our long-term price target of USD 2,300 to be reached

Incrementum Liechtenstein AG | Email:

Download “In Gold We Trust 2015” (pdf).

In Gold We Trust 2015

Nach der knapp verhinderten Implosion des Finanzsystems im Herbst 2008 befinden wir uns im siebten Jahr weltweiter Notenbankexperimente. Wir alle sind Probanden eines beispiellosen Reflationierungs-Kraftaktes, dessen Ausgang ungewiss ist. Fragwürdige geldpolitische Wagnisse wie Quantitative Easing und Negativzinsen sind direkte Konsequenzen systemischer Inflationssucht.

Der Zustand der internationalen Finanzarchitektur ist nach wie vor äußerst fragil. Bereits seit 2011 haben die disinflationären Kräfte die Oberhand. Die systemische Instabilität zwischen Inflation und Deflation – die monetäre Tektonik – kulminierte im zweiten Halbjahr 2014 in einem „disinflationären Erdbeben“.

Die vielerorts chronische Überschuldung verschärft den Druck auf die Geldpolitik, den deflationären Trend zu brechen und endlich steigende Teuerungsraten zu fabrizieren. Gold war stets die beste Put-Option auf exzessive Inflationierungsbemühungen.

Wir sind der Überzeugung, dass wir nun nahe einer entscheidenden Weggabelung stehen: Der disinflationäre Trend wird gebrochen werden (müssen). Steigende Inflationsraten werden entweder im Umfeld einer anspringenden wirtschaftlichen Aktivität oder im Rahmen einer stagflationären Entwicklung auftreten. In beiden Fällen profitieren inflationssensitive Anlagen wie Gold und Minenaktien.

Die Inflationssorgen sind beim Gros der Marktteilnehmer in den letzten Jahren sukzessive verpufft. Dies spiegelt sich sowohl in ungemein niedrigen erwarteten Teuerungsraten, als auch in der Zusammensetzung der Anlegerportfolios wider. Das Verlassen der derzeitigen „Low-Flation“ Phase könnte sich als „pain-trade“ für die Masse der Anleger erweisen.

Aus technischer Sicht ist das Gesamtbild nicht eindeutig. Der Abwärtstrend ist noch nicht gebrochen, hingegen zeigt das negative Sentiment eine Resignation der Goldbullen an. Wir halten einen finalen Sell-Off für möglich. Im Zuge dessen könnte die Unterstützung bei USD 1.140 getestet werden. Eine solche Entwicklung wäre ein Hinweis auf eine primäre Trendwende am Goldmarkt.

Aufgrund unserer vorliegenden Analyse des „Big Picture“ halten wir weiterhin Kurs: In Gold we (still) do trust. Wir sind der festen Überzeugung, dass sich Gold in einem säkulären Bullenmarkt befindet, der vor seinem Comeback steht.

Am Ende des Zyklus erwarten wir eine finale Trendbeschleunigung. Wir haben uns dazu entschlossen, unser langfristiges Kursziel von USD 2.300 nun auf einen zeitlichen Horizont von drei Jahren – also bis Juni 2018 – festzulegen.

Incrementum Liechtenstein AG | Email: contact@incrementum.li

Download „In Gold We Trust 2015“ (pdf).

Lade...